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Driving Safety Course  

or Motorcycle Operator Training Course 
Instruction Request Form 

 
The State of Texas vs.  _________________________________ 

    
 
CASE NUMBER: ____________________________   IN THE JUSTICE COURT 

OFFENSE: _________________________________   PRECINCT _______________  

DATE OF BIRTH: ___________________________   ARANSAS COUNTY, TEXAS 

   
I am satisfied with the information I have received in this case and I am not making a request for discovery.  
(“Discovery” is the process by which the defendant may request evidence related to the case from the State 
under Art. 39.14, Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.)   
I plead no contest to an offense involving operation of a motor vehicle, and I waive a trial by jury. 

I request to take:  Driving Safety Course    Motorcycle Operator Training and Safety Program   
 
 
I understand that I must present the Court the following with this request: 

� A valid Texas driver's license (NOT a commercial driver’s license), LICENSE #: ____________________, 
OR 

� Proof that I am a member of the United States military forces on active duty, or I am the spouse or dependent 
child of the member, and am not now taking the course in another state, and have not completed such a 
course in the 12 months preceding the date of the offense; Division of Armed Service: __________________ 

� Payment of court costs and administrative fee of $144.00. 
 
I understand that I must: 

� Complete a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course as applicable within 90 days of this 
request; 

� Submit by the 90th day from this request a uniform certificate of course completion of a driving safety course 
or a verification of course completion of a motorcycle operator training course as evidence that I have 
completed such a course; 

� Submit by the 90th day from this request a certified copy of my driving record as maintained by the Texas 
Department of Public Safety; 

� Submit by the 90th day from this request proof of financial responsibility pursuant to Chapter 601, 
Transportation Code (automobile liability insurance). 

 
I acknowledge that: 

� I am not charged with speeding 25 mph or more over the posted speed limit. 
� I am not charged with speeding 95 mph or more. 
� I have not completed an approved course within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense 
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I understand that: 

� If I comply with the court order granting the taking of a driving safety/motorcycle operator training course 
and submit all the required evidence as ordered, the Court will dismiss my case and report to the Texas 
Department of Public Safety the date that I completed my course for inclusion on my driving record; 

� If I fail to submit all the evidence required by the Court, I will be notified of a show cause hearing and be 
required to appear before the Court to show cause why I did not present the required evidence of course 
completion; 

� The judge may at the show cause hearing enter a final adjudication against me and require me to pay the fine; 
and 

� The failure to appear at the Show Cause hearing will result in a final adjudication being entered against me, 
and that I will be required to pay the fine and any additional costs required by law. 

 
Do not take the course until you receive an Order from the court allowing you to do so. 
 
Juveniles: A defendant who is younger than 17 years of age must appear in court with a parent, 
guardian, or managing conservator, to enter a plea and request to take a Driving Safety Course or 
Motorcycle Operator Training and Safety Program. 
 
 
 
Driver’s License No._____________________________ State: ______ Home Phone: ________________________ 

Home Address: _________________________________ City: _________________ State: _____ Zip: __________ 

Employer: ______________________________________ Work Phone: ___________________________________ 

Work Address: _____________________________ City: ____________________ State: _______ Zip: __________ 

 
 
 
 

X
Defendant's Signature

 
 
 
________________________________________  _________________________________________         
Defendant's Signature   Date   Defendant's Attorney (if applicable)  Date 
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